Home > Reading > Information

Information

My life is greatly affected by information because there’s just so much information out there.  Whenever I have to look up information for a research paper, I always get information anxiety. It’s overwhelming how there’s TOO MUCH info on the internet or in the form of textbooks. Even with social media sites, there’s a sense of information overload because communication is instant so it’s easy to fall behind on news about your friends’ lives. I know that Twitter is constant, everyone posts things every minute and you could possibly be “following” many users, so it’d be difficult to catch up on their lives while posting about your’s.

The main reason why I feel that there’s too much information is that I have to look for the accuracy and reliability. If I use inaccurate and unreliable sources, the information I accumulate would be useless due to the fact that I’d be using the wrong sources. The Internet’s invention is astounding because of its ways of communication and transferring files. Today, there are so many files  that have been transferred to the web. A person can’t get enough information because there is so much and with all that information, I don’t think anyone would have trouble with gathering it.

However, the key to finding the right information is on how you search for it. Wikipedia is a huge database to read about almost anything, but there’s not many references to the work written behind each topic because anybody can access Wikipedia and edit the texts. A lot of posts do reference to accurate information gathered from books and more authentic information sites. Again, I would like to emphasize how amazing it is to know that there’s an endless array of information out there for a person to look up. At times, I would stop searching for a few minutes because I’m overwhelmed from “brain overload” trying to figure out what information to use.

Categories: Reading