Home > In-Class Assignment > Reflection on how people really watch TV

Reflection on how people really watch TV

So, the first reflection post will be on the article, how people really watch TV (The Economist, Dec 2010).

I can say that I use to watch TV a lot before I went off to college. Growing up, my parents were strict about me going out to hang out with friends, so I stayed inside a lot and watched TV to fight the boredom. I grew up in a family that loved to spend time together behind the screen of a TV, watching a movie on TBS or USA Network. It was a fun time. We never got into that whole DVR era because we preferred to watch our shows “live” regardless if they were live or not.

In a social aspect, I would talk about the new weekly episode of whatever trendy show is on through MySpace to my friends. Some heated discussion sessions took place because of these TV episodes. Whenever there’s a show on the History or Travel Channels about Cambodia, my mom would immediately dial my grandma’s number and tell her to tune in to watch. Not only is TV is fun to watch, it can educate you.

Today’s technology is so advanced. I watch TV less now because I can watch shows online on my laptop and I know people with smart phones capable of doing the same. I find it revolutionary that TV makers are incorporating widgets into their HDTV sets. How tube screen television sets turned into sleek and slim HDTVs that connect to the internet! And there’s even those 3D HDTVs. It’s so fascinating how future technology is getting more advanced. By creating such beautiful technology like this, I wouldn’t be surprised of a return of families getting together to watch TV together again because it’s not the same now compared to the past.

Categories: In-Class Assignment
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment