Home > Reading > My Experiences with Electronic Commerce

My Experiences with Electronic Commerce

My experiences with electronic commerce have been quite positive since I was introduced to the world of the Internet. I have always been a customer for U.S. Bank and didn’t get an account with them until I turned 18. When I did sign up for a debit card, the bank teller told me how I go online to access my account information to do transfers and read my bank statement. So, that night, I went on the computer and logged onto my bank account via online and found it to be convenient. Instead of having to go to the bank or an ATM to transfer money from accounts, I can do it from the comfort of my own home. Also, later I figured out that there was direct deposit where my paycheck from work would automatically be deposited online straight to my account instead of having a paper paycheck sent home. The use of electronic funds transfer is brilliant because it saves everyone time.

 

I was an early adopter of iTunes compared to most of my peers because I purchased an iPod Mini back in 8th grade before iPods sprang to its infamous popularity. Since I was 16 at the time and didn’t have my own debit card to purchase music, Apple offered gift cards to their iTunes store. So, I can go to the store, purchase a gift card, and use that to purchase music online. It’s simple, safe, and user-friendly. I also want to mention how the store was ingenius for having recommendations. Other users who listen to similar music as myself would purchase and recommend music that is similar in style to the music I’m purchasing. This would get me to sample the other music to see if I like it or not. I found the idea pretty neat.

 

Amazon was the death of my wallet. You can find ANYTHING on Amazon. From textbooks to workout machines, it’s almost endless. When I go on the page, there is always recommendations for me because I online “window shop” a lot to see what I’d like to purchase for the future. I strongly favor this feature because Amazon made this popular for other e-commerce sites.

Categories: Reading
  1. August 14, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    Danny, I enjoyed reading your entry because everything you said was something I could relate to. I have Bank of America and I too love how quick and easy it is to transfer money from my different accounts or simply check my balances. I think its been a very positive experience for myself and I truly love how accessible it is. I can do it from the comfort of my own home, or right before I’m going to make a purchase. Perhaps its a dangerous thing for my savings account, but I truly do enjoy how quick it is. Consumer satisfaction and instant gratification- nothing better.

    In regard to Online purchases, I’ve had mixed experiences. But, I do enjoy browsing Amazon to see what kind of deals they have. My only problem is that I refuse to buy clothes or shoes. I need to see how they look on me and that is one thing virtual shopping can not satisfy. Somethings are just better in person. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment